thecowlady



Run report

imageI know at some stage I am going to be asked to do the run report for our local Parkrun. It may be a gut feeling but it’s there!

My history of running is checkered to say the least, I didn’t enjoy running at school, I’d play football or hockey all day but not run. I was too slow to be a sprinter, hated running around the track and our cross country course could be likened to a modern day Obstacle Course Race! Mud, rivers, fences and even the muckiest farmyard I’ve ever been to and ive been to a few!

i didn’t run again until i was 39, bullied into a 10 week running course that I was assured would have me up to 10k by then end i begrudgingly joined in. At week 8 I completed Tidworth 10k, the sense of achievement slightly outweighing the nausea I felt at 8k. Anyone that knows that race knows there is a ‘bastard’ hill slap bang in the middle!

Not to be daunted I continued running and completed a few more races. Getting a bit faster and finding it a bit easier. I joined Sarum Sisters  a few months later and run regularly with them again now after a break of two years. I did originally get up to 10 miles and as far as I’m concerned that is plenty far enough for me to run. Under two hours, that’ll do me! I can remember running passed Salisbury Cathedral one night about a mile out and suddenly realising I was running with out thinking, I was completely comfortable  and actually enjoying it! Having said that I am completely useless running on my own I need others for company!

So now to Parkrun, why get up on a Saturday morning in all weathers and do 3 or 4 laps of your local park? I’m still trying to work that one out but perhaps it’s because I enjoy it, I like the banter between the marshals and I as I huff and puff my way round. I like the fact it’s timed and I’m trying to beat my personal best, although I would rather be miles off it than the 1 measly second I was the other week! I like encouraging others, I’ve watched as some that were walking are now walk/running the course and others that are now running. When I started running again I could only walk run, I can now run all of it, some days it’s easier than others and I really struggle with the 4th lap, roll on summer when we can revert back to 3! I know it’s a mindset thing but my mind doesn’t like it! Mikes music on the toilet corner is always inspiring. Last week on lap 2 it was ‘Road to hell’ lap 3 was ‘I’m still standing’ and lap 4 was ‘all right now’ although im not sure if that was a question or a statement, expecting me to sing along was pushing it!

In short I love parkrun, I can’t wait to be a parkrun tourist and have a few earmarked for later in the year but for now it’s just Salisbury, with me determined that this week will be a new personal best!

 


Leave a comment